Facebook’s more than 800 million members will now be able to convert their profiles to the new Timeline design.

The world’s largest social network announced Timeline in September, and now it’s available worldwide. The feature replaces current user profiles and dramatically overhauls how information is shared on the service.

“It’s a way to tell all the important stories from your life on a single page,” Facebook co-founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg said when he announced the new feature at his company’s F8 Conference.

Timeline shows all the updates a person has added to Facebook since they joined the site. It also follows the social network’s desire to provide users with a single place to showcase what has happened in their lives over the years.

Aside from a prominent picture at the top and basic information below it, Timeline has a right sidebar listing years in chronological order that you can click on to see what a user shared on the site, who they made friends with, and other information for any given period. Timeline even includes a map where people can input where they’ve been around the world.

Facebook said this morning that people can head over to its Timeline information page and turn the feature on. Upon doing so, they will have seven days to review their timelines and decide whether certain photos or wall posts shared on the site over the years should be shared or kept hidden from view.

 

Advertisements